Reviews

9.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
8.8
Property location
9.4
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.7
Value
9.4

Reviews

    YaaHaa
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    15 May 2018

    Fantastic place to stay in Drake Bay

    Nothing worth noting.
    Fantastic and friendly staff! Anja and her staff were extremely helpful and nice all throughout our stay and well before that, organised tours for us and answered all our questions. Strongly recommend the night walk with Esteban, we saw so many lovely critters! The family bungalow was very well equipped with luxuries like international power plugs, mattress cover, really good mosquito nets and a fire extinguisher (only one I've seen in a room in Costa Rica so far). The garden is nice and unruly in a very positive way, so good for humans and animals alike. Very comfy common area, which we didn't use for cooking, but was very well equipped. Tap water was drinkable! We could store our luggage for free during our overnight tour to Corcovado, which was also very useful. Muchas gracias para todo!
    Marie
    fr

    Review score

    10
    5 May 2018

    Pura vida 😉

    nothing :)
    Very good welcoming on the beach and splendid surroundings of the hotel...lots of hummingbirds, macaws around...
    Carola
    de

    Review score

    10
    4 May 2018

    Very clean and comfortable with amazing staff

    tent had drawn some moisture which you could smell a little, but not very surprising considering the humidity
    really clean, liked the private tent set up on the platform, staff was super helpful, friendly and knowledgable (thanks Esteban!) and Anya makes sure everyone is enjoying their stay.
    Struan
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    16 April 2018

    Loved the location and the wildlife. Thank you.

    We wished our fellow guests would tidy up after themselves better..... maybe have a sign pointing to reception for those arriving for the first time?
    The location is amazing - with lots of wildlife in the garden. The people are very friendly and the cabina was comfortable, well appointed, clean and tidy.
    Theo Bol
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    16 April 2018

    Very nice staff helpful nice surrounding and garden

    Original idea
    Carlos
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    13 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    tine
    be

    Review score

    8.3
    13 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    de

    Review score

    10
    11 April 2018

    A great experience in a tent beside the jungle!

    bretttroxell
    cr

    Review score

    10
    10 April 2018

    great solution to my needs to see the area

    public space lighting at night
    super comfortable tent
    Alexandra
    es

    Review score

    10
    6 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marja
    nl

    Review score

    7.9
    5 April 2018

    Good place to be.

    The road was nearby and that made it a little bit noisy. But between 10 pm and 4 am it is quiet. It was a pity that the rooms are not daily cleaned. We stay three nights and there was no cleaning. If we had asked they clean the room but i think that it is better if there is a daily cleaning service without asking for it.
    The garden and the kindness of the host, the good service and all the things the host arranged for us. It is a good place to stay!
    Francesca
    it

    Review score

    10
    28 March 2018

    Absolutely amazing

    Anja, the owner, welcomes you in her house in the beach as you arrive with the boat. She’s a fantastic woman. deeply in love with Bahia Drake and nature. Follow her suggestions, and don’t be afraid to ask for advice. This place is a natural consequence of her love: small but so very comfortable cabins in the jungle, a lovely common area with hammocks where there is always someone of the staff for a chat, for advice or for showing you a Perezoso hanging around. hummingbirds everywhere. we had shared our bathroom with another cabin: it was like we were the only users. The town is very small, so you are 3 minutes from the centre. Time flows differently here, in a natural rythm that you can’t experience anywhere else. Is this enough to describe it? Maybe not. Better live it. We loved it and truly hope to get to be back one day. Thank you Anja and all Mohangine staff!
    Alexandra
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    25 March 2018

    I would always come back.

    Anja is a very friendly, supporting and organised person. She gets in contact to her customers before the stay to figure out if they need something and helps them to get everything arranged. Even during the stay Anja or at least somebody from her team comes arround to ask you about your day. I stayed in one of the tents which was really nice. The tents have a small terrace with chairs and hamock. There are no other tents or accomodations ins view only nature. It is a great place to relaxe.
    German couple
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    20 March 2018

    Very nice place and very good value for the money.

    In the first night there was a lot of noise from the road (our room was right next to the entrance) particularly from motor cyclist (with mufflers removed)- but you can't blame the host for this, can you?!
    Great place with very nice meeting / cooking area, homely atmosphere and very friendly, helpful host. Nature in this place (partly primary forest) is really fantastic, and so was the guided night tour on the plot!
    Reni van der Gragt
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    19 March 2018

    Lovely stay in a tent

    Everything is just arranged perfectly and the place is really nice! We had our own campingspot with everthing you good ask for. It was a real pleasent stay for a good price!
    Chloé
    fr

    Review score

    10
    19 March 2018

    Perfect

    The staff was nice and really helpfull, we couldn't hope better place to stay in drake bay. You feel like sleeping in the forest.
    Jon
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 March 2018

    Tranquil stay in a Forrest environment. Beautiful.

    Nothing
    I loved sitting out on the deck listening to the jungle noises. Everyone has their own secluded accommodation surrounded by the Forrest. The communal kitchen was good. We used the kettle but not to cook.
    Laura
    de

    Review score

    10
    10 March 2018
    Nice, friendly and helpful staff; Anja arranges anything e.g. trips and transfer. The notched is totally equipped, accommodations and showers / restrooms are very clean. Beautiful garden. Very good breakfast (4000 Colones) in „Tortugo“ restaurant near to the sea.
    Piet Knijnenburg
    be

    Review score

    9.2
    20 May 2018
    Next to the jungle, at the edge of the village. Not a proper hotel, more a collection of rustic cabins with shared facilities. Night excursion was very interesting but expensive. Recommended!
    Lucia
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    22 April 2018
    Don't come here if you're expecting luxury. However this is a wonderful place to stay for the budget traveler or those who enjoy more rugged/natural getaways. The rooms were simple but nice. I loved that mine had a view out into a bunch of trees -- it made me feel secluded and in the middle of a rainforest! I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is ok with no air conditioning and shared bathrooms. The staff are super super friendly!
Loading reviews